Waterfall Model

Waterfall model is a Sequential design process, used in software development processes. In this model, the software development activity is divided into different phases and each phase consists of series of tasks and has different objectives. Since the phases falls from higher level to lower level, like a water fall, It’s named as waterfall model.

In Waterfall model output of one phase becomes input of the next phase. It is mandatory for a phase to be completed before the next phase starts.

Different phases of Waterfall model are as follows:

1. Requirement Analysis: Capture all the requirements, Do the requirements feasibility test.

2. System Design: Create the design, Capture the hardware / software requirements.

3. Implementation: Create the code, Integrate the codes for the next phase,Unit testing of the code.

4. System Testing: Perform all the testing activities to make sure if it works as expected.

5. System Deployment: Deploy the application in the respective environment.

6. System maintenance: Generally, it includes some minor bug fixes that are usually made during this phase. Also the application is always enhanced to incorporate more features, update the environment with the latest features.

Advantages of using Waterfall model

  • Easy to understand and use.
  • Waterfall model works well for smaller projects.
  • Since One phase is done one at a time , it is easy to maintain.
  • Results are well documented.

Disadvantages of using Waterfall model

  • It becomes very difficult to go back to the previous phase and change something.
  • Not a good model for complex and bigger projects.
  • Poor model for long and ongoing projects.
  • Not suitable for the projects where requirements are changed frequently.

Post a Comment